Stages of Competency – Where are you at ?

Have you ever wondered where you might be in your skiing level of competency? Are we just beginning the journey or perhaps trying to master a certain component of the ski world?

Generally speaking, there are four levels of competency and how we cognitively grasp them.

4-Levels of Competency

  1. 1.Unconscious Incompetence 
    • Wrong Intuition
    • We don’t know what we don’t know
    • IE: “Why can’t I turn my skis when I want to?”
  1. 2.Conscious Incompetence 
  1. Wrong Analysis
  2. We begin to recognize what we’re missing
  3. IE: “I think I now know what is required to turn my skis but can’t quite get it!”
  1. 3.Conscious Competence
  1. Right Analysis
  2. We cognitively know what to do and begin to become competent 
  3. IE: “I’m starting to ‘get it’ and beginning to know why
  1. 4.Unconscious Competence
  1. Right Intuition
  2. We no longer have to think about it while performing. It happens without having to think about it.
  3. IE: “Wow, that was an easy run and I didn’t even have to think about it!”

Leave a Reply